Sign up for text message event notifications by texting BASEVENTS to 970-620-9150

It should have been you
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Salem, MA : Page Street Publishing Co., 2018.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
313 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
Description
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school's newspaper. She's funny, feisty, and cares deeply about making a difference in people's lives, but her own personal problems threaten to overwhelm her. Five months ago, her twin, Moura, was murdered. Soon threatening emails start to arrive at her staff inbox. Convinced that her email stalker blames Clara for her sister's death and is out for revenge, she decides to undertake her own investigation. Can she solve the murder in time to save herself? This suspenseful page-turner about a complicated sibling relationship is perfect for fans of We Were Liars , Fangirl , I'll Give You the Sun , and Vanishing Girls . Secrets, lies, brilliantly crafted twists and turns, and a dual mystery will keep readers in suspense until the very last page. Although primarily a whodunit, this novel also focuses on important social themes high-school teens face. Lynn blends a page-turning mystery thriller with sweet romance and demonstrates the very real effects of grief, rivalry, sexuality, dating violence, and bullying on today's youth. Clara is believable, relatable, smart, snarky, brave, and conscientious. Her strong teen voice will resonate with a wide audience, and she is a perfect role model for teens who are dealing with similar social issues.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Basalt Young Adult Fiction
YF SLA
Due Aug 27, 2019
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
1624145353, 9781624145353

Notes

Description
Seventeen-year-old Clara is just starting to recover from her piano prodigy twin's unsolved murder, for which she herself was a suspect. Her lifeline has become the advice column she writes for her high school newspaper. But then threatening e-mails begin arriving in her staff inbox. Convinced that her e-mail stalker blames her for her sister's death and is out for revenge, Clara undertakes her own investigation. But as she draws closer to the truth about her sister's life, she puts her own in grave danger. In the meantime, she falls hard for Ben, a new boy in school, who turns out to have a secret of his own. She also tries to help a reader involved in an abusive relationship, only to find herself a little too involved for her own good.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Slaughter, L. (2018). It should have been you. Salem, MA: Page Street Publishing Co.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Slaughter, Lynn. 2018. It Should Have Been You. Salem, MA: Page Street Publishing Co.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Slaughter, Lynn, It Should Have Been You. Salem, MA: Page Street Publishing Co, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Slaughter, Lynn. It Should Have Been You. Salem, MA: Page Street Publishing Co, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e719f25c-9bed-d7a3-5032-30d71ce4ea38
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Aug 07, 2019 02:58:30 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Aug 07, 2019 01:05:06 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03439cam a2200517Ki 4500
001ocn982601201
003OCoLC
00520180201094042.0
008170515s2018    mau    d      000 1 eng d
010 |a 2017947934
019 |a 982445300 |a 982650876
020 |a 1624145353
020 |a 9781624145353
035 |a (OCoLC)982601201 |z (OCoLC)982445300 |z (OCoLC)982650876
040 |a YDX |b eng |c YDX |d CHILD |d TOH |d SO$ |d HE$
049 |a HE$A
08214 |a [Fic]
099 |a YF SLA
1001 |a Slaughter, Lynn, |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n97846983 |e author.
24510 |a It should have been you / |c Lynn Slaughter.
264 1 |a Salem, MA : |b Page Street Publishing Co., |c 2018.
300 |a 313 pages ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
385 |n age |a Children |2 lcdgt.
520 |a Seventeen-year-old Clara is just starting to recover from her piano prodigy twin's unsolved murder, for which she herself was a suspect. Her lifeline has become the advice column she writes for her high school newspaper. But then threatening e-mails begin arriving in her staff inbox. Convinced that her e-mail stalker blames her for her sister's death and is out for revenge, Clara undertakes her own investigation. But as she draws closer to the truth about her sister's life, she puts her own in grave danger. In the meantime, she falls hard for Ben, a new boy in school, who turns out to have a secret of his own. She also tries to help a reader involved in an abusive relationship, only to find herself a little too involved for her own good.
650 0 |a Teenage girls |v Juvenile fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010115876.
650 0 |a Sisters |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85123008 |x Death |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99002023 |v Juvenile fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001687.
650 0 |a Murder |x Investigation |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85088615 |v Juvenile fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001687.
650 0 |a Advice columnists |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh88000020 |v Juvenile fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001687.
650 0 |a High school students |v Juvenile fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008121575.
650 0 |a Man-woman relationships |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh92001504 |v Juvenile fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001687.
650 7 |a FICTION / Suspense. |2 bisacsh.
655 0 |a Young adult fiction.
655 7 |a Thrillers (Fiction) |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026571.
655 7 |a Romance fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026516.
655 7 |a Detective and mystery fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026280.
655 7 |a Bildungsromans. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026243.
907 |a .b57289104 |b ba |c p |d 180201 |e 181027
998 |a ba |b 180201 |c m |d a |e p |f eng |g mau |h 0 |i 1
948 |a MARCIVE Q2, 2018
994 |a C0 |b HE$
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.08
99500 |a Loaded with m2btab.b in 2018.02
989 |a YF SLA |d bayf |b 1440002761813 |e 04-24-2018 12:21 |f 08-06-2019 10:12 |g - |h 2 |i 0 |j 115 |k 180201 |l $16.99 |m 190827 |n 06-25-2018 9:36 |o - |p 71 |q 71 |t 1 |x 1 |1 .i118271222