Sign up for text message event notifications by texting BASEVENTS to 970-620-9150

Unseen

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
St. Martin's Minotaur,
Pub. Date:
2006.
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth. What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island. In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim's close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Hakan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780312351571
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID83b13a9e-0b24-f163-2ed3-6e5e32b40682
Grouping Titleunseen
Grouping Authorjungstedt mari
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-09-29 12:05:18PM
Last Indexed2019-11-17 04:21:34AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Nunnally, Tiina, 1952-
authorJungstedt, Mari, 1962-
author2-roleNunnally, Tiina,1952-
author_displayJungstedt, Mari
available_at_basaltBasalt
detailed_location_basaltBasalt Fiction
display_description
format_basaltBook
format_category_basaltBooks
id83b13a9e-0b24-f163-2ed3-6e5e32b40682
isbn9780312351571
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b26650502.i47872123Basalt FictionF JUN1falsefalseOn Shelfbafi
itype_basaltFiction
last_indexed2019-11-17T11:21:34.936Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_basaltF JUN
owning_library_basaltBasalt Regional Library
owning_location_basaltBasalt
primary_isbn9780312351571
publishDate2006
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b26650502BookBooks1st ed.EnglishSt. Martin's Minotaur, 2006.246 pages : map ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_basalt
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26650502.i47872123On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue116, 117, 118, 119, 120
seriesDetective Anders Knutas mysteries
series_with_volumeDetective Anders Knutas mysteries|1
subject_facetDetective and mystery fiction
Journalists -- Fiction
Serial murders -- Sweden -- Fiction
Sweden -- Fiction
Swedish fiction -- Translations into English
Swedish fiction -- Women authors -- Translations into English
Women dog owners -- Crimes against -- Fiction
title_displayUnseen
title_fullUnseen / Mari Jungstedt ; translated from the Swedish by Tiina Nunnally
title_shortUnseen
topic_facetCrimes against
Journalists
Serial murders
Women authors
Women dog owners