To enforce social distancing, the Library building continues to be closed to the public. Please check our website for the latest updates. Curbside pickup is available Monday through Thursday, 12-6PM, and Friday & Saturday 12-4PM. 

The Way Back

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Pub. Date:
2020
Language:
English
Description
LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, a sweeping historical fantasy that follows two teens on a journey through the Far Country, a Jewish land of spirits and demons. For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere: dancing on the rooftops in the darkness of midnight, congregating in the trees, harrowing the dead, even reaching out to try and steal away the living. But the demons have a land of their own: a Far Country peopled with the souls of the transient dead, governed by demonic dukes, barons, and earls. When the Angel of Death comes strolling through the little shtetl of Tupik one night, two young people will be sent spinning off on a journey through the Far Country. There they will make pacts with ancient demons, declare war on Death himself, and maybe-- just maybe--find a way to make it back alive. Drawing inspiration from the Jewish folk tradition, The Way Back is a dark adventure sure to captivate readers of Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book and Philip Pullman's The Book of Dust.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781984894649
Lexile measure:
840L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3980ac81-493f-95fa-b8fa-e1a5133ba1e7
Grouping Titleway back
Grouping Authorgavriel savit
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 23:08:47PM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 00:05:51AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorGavriel Savit
author_displayGavriel Savit
detailed_location_basaltOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionPerfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, a sweeping historical fantasy that follows two teens on a journey through the Far Country, a Jewish land of spirits and demons.
For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere: dancing on the rooftops in the darkness of midnight, congregating in the trees, harrowing the dead, even reaching out to try and steal away the living.
But the demons have a land of their own: a Far Country peopled with the souls of the transient dead, governed by demonic dukes, barons, and earls. When the Angel of Death comes strolling through the little shtetl of Tupik one night, two young people will be sent spinning off on a journey through the Far Country. There they will make pacts with ancient demons, declare war on Death himself, and maybe— just maybe—find a way to make it back alive.
Drawing inspiration from the Jewish folk tradition, The Way Back is a dark adventure sure to captivate readers of Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book and Philip Pullman's The Book of Dust.
format_basalteBook
format_category_basalteBook
id3980ac81-493f-95fa-b8fa-e1a5133ba1e7
isbn9781984894649
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:9a582ea9-6343-4730-8614-712e1539fdd33Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBookChecked Out
last_indexed2020-09-26T06:05:51.442Z
lexile_score840
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_basaltOnline OverDrive
local_time_since_added_basalt2 Months
Month
Quarter
Six Months
Year
owning_library_basaltBasalt Regional Library Online
owning_location_basaltOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781984894649
publishDate2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:9a582ea9-6343-4730-8614-712e1539fdd3eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2020
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_basalt
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9a582ea9-6343-4730-8614-712e1539fdd33Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Way Back
title_fullThe Way Back
title_shortThe Way Back
topic_facetFantasy
Mythology
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature